top of page

Love Languages: Expressing Care Through Gifts

There are five primary ways that people speak and understand emotional love: words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service, and physical touch. This theory was developed by Dr. Gary Chapman after years of being a marriage counselor and maintaining a marriage of his own. Author, anthropologist, Doctor of Philosophy, and pastor, Chapman first published The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts in 1995. In this book, Chapman argues that while each of the five languages is enjoyed to some degree by all, a person usually speaks one primary language. This primary language can be tested online or with a series of online questions about how you prefer to show and express affection.

For Valerie, her primary love language is receiving gifts. This love language means that a meaningful or thoughtful gift makes them feel appreciated and loved. Gifts can include a thoughtful handwritten note, a small momento, or even a piece of art.

Every commissioned work is Valerie’s way of expressing care for her clients. For her, creating art goes beyond solely enjoying it; she creates individualized and deeply personal pieces that resonate with the client, driven by her desire to provide people the joy and affirmation that receiving gifts gives her.

Valerie believes in living creatively. Whether it be interior design, the art you collect, or the bookshelf that inspires you, she believes that our environment is a reflection of ourselves. Therefore it is paramount for her that her own home provide an endless source of the inspiration and delight that propels her work. Through her commissioned work, she hopes to provide the receiver with a piece of work that brings genuine jubilation and inspiration wherever it lives.

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page